Russia can resume nuclear tests: here’s why

Russia can resume nuclear tests: here’s why

Vladimir Putin asks, the Duma obeys as usual. Only a few hours after the Russian President, in his speech at the Valdai Discussion Forum, put forward the idea, the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the Russian Parliament, Vyacheslav Volodin, announced…Discussion begins to revoke Moscow’s ratification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty “In line with Russia’s national interests.” Volodin added that this discussion will be “a response to the fact that the United States has not yet ratified the treaty.”

“It would be a positive thing if we were able to test the operation of these systems, but armed with a nuclear warhead,” he said yesterday. Put it inThis follows the confirmation of a test of the Burevestnik nuclear-powered cruise missile and the announcement that the development of the intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM Sarmat) is almost complete. And then Russia was supposed to withdraw its ratification of the treaty, which was concluded in 1996, but it has not yet entered into force.Because enough countries failed to ratify, so too did the United States, as Putin pointed out yesterday and Volodin reiterated today. “But it is up to the Duma to decide.”

What is the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty?

Treaty For a comprehensive ban on nuclear testing, for civilian or military use, in the air, at sea, in space and underground, for an indefinite period, against which Russia now wants to strike the final blow, Twenty-two years after its publication, it has not yet entered into force. However, 187 countries (out of 196) have signed it, the last of which was Somalia, 178 countries have ratified it, and the last to ratify it is Sri Lanka.

See also  Violent protests in Dublin took Ireland by surprise

The “For a World Free of Nuclear Explosions” initiative was launched by the United Nations General Assembly in 1996, and has since been ratified by all 44 countries with the required nuclear or experimental reactors. Eight of this group of countries have not done so. The United States, Israel, Egypt, Iran, and China have not ratified the agreement. India, North Korea and Pakistan did not even sign it. In total, 18 countries have not ratified it, and 9 countries have not signed it.

The treaty also provides for a monitoring system consisting of 300 stations around the world. The Preparatory Committee for the Declaration, established in 1996 and based in Vienna, continues to work “temporarily” to develop the verification system for the Treaty with a view to its entry into force.

The Treaty consists of a preamble, 17 articles, two annexes (including an annex containing the list of 44 states whose ratification was required for its entry into force) and a protocol, which in turn contains two annexes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *