Haiti | Prime Minister Ariel Henry will form the new government on Tuesday


In the new government, the current caretaker Prime Minister Claude Joseph will resume his tenure as Secretary of State, sources said on Monday.

This announcement seems to put an end to the conflict between MM. Joseph and Henry competing for leadership of the administration.

Photo by Valerie Perisville, Agencies France-Press Archives

In this new government, the current caretaker Prime Minister Claude Joseph (above) will resume his tenure as Secretary of State.

“Over the days, Claude Joseph and Ariel Henry have increased the number of joint meetings, which will lead to the formation of a government that includes Ariel Henry as Prime Minister and Secretary of State Claude Joseph,” the official said.

“There will be no president of the Republic. The aim of this new government is to hold general elections as soon as possible, ”he added.

Benefiting over the weekend from the delegations representing Germany, Brazil, Canada, Spain, the United States, France, the European Union, as well as the following countries, This presence finally helped in favor of Henry. Special Representative of the Organization of American States (OAS) and Special Representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

In a statement on Saturday, the “core committee” called for a “consensus and inclusive government”.

“For this purpose (Core Committee) Prime Minister Ariel Henry strongly encourages the continuation of the task entrusted to form such a government,” the ambassadors added.

The funeral of Joanel Moss, who was shot dead by armed commandos at midnight on July 7, will take place on Friday.

See also  Ukrainian war Zelensky in the US Congress: "We have been living on September 11 for three weeks"

Ariel Henry, a 71-year-old surgeon, is in his third ministerial experience. He was Minister of Home Affairs from January to September 2015 and then Minister of Social Affairs and Labor from September 2015 to March 2016. Prior to that, he was a member of the Cabinet of Ministers of Public Health from June 2006 to September 2008. Of staff from September 2008 to October 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *