US-China-France-GB-Russia for the future without nuclear weapons – the last hour

(ANSA) – Paris, 03 January – Five UN Security Council members – China, US, France, Great Britain and Russia – reaffirm their commitment to “prevent further spread of nuclear weapons”. In a joint declaration ahead of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) conference, the five countries underlined their desire to “work with all states to further the goal of nuclear disarmament, aimed at a world without nuclear weapons.” The joint note was published by Elise.

“We reaffirm – we write to the Security Council – that a nuclear war can never be won and will never happen. In view of the enormous consequences of the use of nuclear weapons, we reaffirm our commitment to continue to work for defensive purposes, as long as they exist.” And prevent.We firmly believe in the need to stop the proliferation of these weapons.

The signatories reiterate their commitment to respectful of the obligations of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), specifically mentioned in Article VI, to continue negotiations in good faith on effective measures to end the nuclear arms race. soon. And a General and Comprehensive Disarmament Treaty under Nuclear Disarmament and Strict and Effective International Control. (Handle).

Reproduction Assigned by © Copyright ANSA