Have Ball, Will Travel: Andray Blatche

‘Have Ball, Will Travel’ is a recurring video feature here at Hardwood Paroxysm, in which we take a closer look at debatable traveling calls and non-calls with documented rule in mind.

In this installment, we’ll look at a play in last night’s game between the Wizards and Bobcats, in which Andray Blatche was whistled for a traveling violation on a drive to the basket.

The NBA’s Video Rulebook states that “an offensive player with the ball may not hop consecutively on the same foot upon ending his dribble.” Upon closer inspection, that’s exactly what Blatche does. He uses his first “collect’ step as a hop off of his right foot, and follows it up with another step of his right foot. Had Blatche alternated feet on his path to the basket, this would be a perfectly legal maneuver.

We get so caught up in counting steps that it’s easy to overlook a sequence like this one. There’s nothing wrong with Blatche’s step-count, but the referee was on top of the illegal move nonetheless. Kudos to the officiating crew.

Unknown Source